Extracurriculars

Academic Decathlon

The Academic Decathlon is a team competition wherein students match their intellects with students from other schools.Students are tested in Art, Economics, Essay, Interview, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Music, Science, Social Science and Speech.Each high school enters a team of nine students: 3 "A" or Honor students, 3 "B" or Scholastic students, and 3 "C" or Varsity students.

Advisor: Mr. Webster, mcwebster@pittsfield.net

Berkshire Youth United (BYU)

Encourages the youth of Berkshire County to make a contribution to this community through leadership, community awareness and involvement.All welcome!

Advisor: Dr. Casey, rcasey@pittsfield.net

Business Professionals of America (BPA)

Students are members of a national student organization that promotes leadership skills and academic competition at the state and national level.Meetings held on first Thursday of the month.(10-12th grade)

Advisors: Mrs. DiSimoni, ldisimoni@pittsfield.net
& Ms. McNeice, hmcneice@pittsfield.net, Room 237

Chorus

Meets 5th period and we perform concerts and go on trips to various places such as NYC, Hershey Park and Williamsburg.

Advisor: Mrs. Passetto, jpassetto@pittsfield.net

Class Council

Join your class council and help to raise funds, plan dances, coordinate the prom, and organize class trips.All are welcome!

Seniors: Mrs. Dearborn, mdearborn@pittsfield.net and
Mrs. Michaud tmichaud@pittsfield.net

Juniors: Ms. Meier, ameier@pittsfield.net
and Mrs. Potash, mpotash@pittsfield.net

Sophomores: Ms. Maddalena, smaddalena@pittsfield.net
and Mr. Siegel, jsiegel@pittsfield.net

Freshmen: TBD

Environmental Club

A student group dedicated to learning about the natural world, environmental issues and participates in the Massachusetts Environthon competition.

Advisor: TBD

Fly Fishing Club

Do you like to fish?Enjoy the outdoors?Join the Fly Fishing Club - no experience necessary.Activities include monthly meetings, possible fishing outings, final meeting and cookout on Mr. Wojcik’s trout pond.

Advisors: Mr. Boyce, dboyce@pittsfield.net
and Mr. Wojcik, rwojcik@pittsfield.net, Room 235

French Club

Meets weekly after school in Room 207, and everyone is welcome! Activities have included exchanging email with pen pals, participating in cooking demonstrations, preparing for the SAT French test, and enjoying a game of pétanque on the grounds of Taconic. Members may also be eligible for induction into the nation French honor society. 

Advisor: Ms. Cusson, kcusson@pittsfield.net

Green & Gold

Coordinate spirit days, pep rallies, seniors’ last day, bulletin board and random acts of kindness.Meetings held the 3rd Thursday of each month - all are welcome!

Advisors: Mrs. Maloy, emaloy@pittsfield.net,
and Mrs. Scaduto, cscaduto@pittsfield.net

GSA

Students discuss issues of diversity and create projects to help make THS a safe and respectful school for all.Gay, bisexual, and transgender students and their allies are strongly encouraged to participate in this group.

Advisors: Ms. Meier, ameier@pittsfield.net
and Mrs. McCann, kmccann@pittsfield.net

Intramurals

The Physical Education Dept. offers intramurals Monday thru Friday from 6:30 a.m. to 7:15 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. to 3:15 p.m. The Aerobic Room, which features treadmills, rowing machines, various exercise bikes, elliptical trainer, stairmasters and dumbbell weights, is open at these times. On Tuesday and Thursday an activity that is being offered in class, such as badminton, basketball or indoor soccer, will also be offered after school in the gym. We want students to Balance the Equation—Physical Activity + Proper Nutrition = Total Health.


Italian Club

Open to all Italian students interested in Italian culture. Activities include tutoring, movies, book club and games. All are welcome!

Advisor: Mrs. Dario, jdario@pittsfield.net

Latin Club

Open to Latin students and anyone interested in the ancient world.Periodic celebration of holidays and notable events in Roman history.Also, twice a month, after school Certamen (quiz game), just for fun.

Advisor: Ms. Cope, ccope@pittsfield.net

Literary Magazine

The Double-Edged Sword, Taconic High School's literary magazine, is a venue for writers, poets, songwriters, playwrights and artists to publish their work. Any Taconic student may submit pieces for selection by editors.

Advisors: Mrs. Cochran, mcochran@pittsfield.net,
and Mrs. Foley, jfoley@pittsfield.net

National Honor Society

This group is composed of highly achieving Taconic juniors and seniors who volunteer throughout the community. An NHS student must maintain a grade point average of 90 or above. NHS students help out their peers by tutoring and are the leaders of our school.

Advisos: Mrs. Cochran, mcochran@pittsfield.net

New England Math League

Open to honor level math students from 10th - 12th grade.

Advisor: TBD

Peer Resource

A group of students representing the entire student population, trained in conflict resolution and mediation techniques. They use their skills to help fellow students resolve conflicts and make Taconic a safer place.

Advisor: TBD

Quiz Team

Matches are once a month at different schools in Berkshire County and all students at all levels are welcome to join.

Advisors: Mrs. Dearborn, mdearborn@pittsfield.net
and Mr. Siegel, jsiegel@pittsfield.net, Room 125 or 109


Science and Outing Club:

Participates in outdoor activities such as hiking, white water rafting, camping and biking. We have traveled locally as well as taken trips to Washington, D.C, Boston, Costa Rica, and NYC to visit museums, zoos, historical sites, and natural areas.

Advisors: Mrs. Pearson, kpearson@pittsfield.net,
and Mrs. Costello, lcostello@pittsfield.net

Skills USA


SkillsUSA is a partnership of students, teachers and industry working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. Every vocational student at Taconic is a member of this organization, which involves educational programs, events, and competitions that support career and technical education.
Advisors:  Mrs. Ferris,  mferris@pittsfield.net and Mr. Rosier, jrosier@pittsfield.net

Spanish Club

Open to all Spanish students.Celebration of holidays and events in Spanish Culture.Activities include movies, games, tutoring, and field trip to NYC.

Advisor:  Mrs. Johansen, ajohansen@pittsfield.net

Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)

Meet to discuss the best prevention and intervention tools possible to deal with the issues of underage drinking, other drug use impaired driving and other destructive decisions. Also performs community service to help younger children.

Advisors: Mrs. Nutting, anutting@pittsfield.net

Taconic Book Club

A diverse group of students and faculty read the same book over a period of six weeks and meet to discuss it weekly. There is also communication and postings through the school’s library website.

Advisors: Mrs. Cochran, mcochran@pittsfield.net
and Mrs. Jagiello, kjagiello@pittsfield.net

Theatre

Fall Festival of Shakespeare with a show in November; a spring musical with auditions in December; and a show in April. Theater class meets period 7 and we perform for Halloween and the holidays, and put on a dinner theater murder mystery in the spring. Those unable to enroll in the class are still welcome to participate.

Advisor: Mrs. Passetto, jpassetto@pittsfield.net

Yearbook

All are welcome. We need writers, designers, salespeople and photographers! Yearbook meetings are held after school. Days of the week will vary. All students may sign up, but this is of particular interest to juniors and seniors. Students may also sign up to take yearbook for credit with the permission of Mrs. Eldridge. Meetings are usually in Room 182, next to the library. Stop in and see Mrs. Eldridge in Room 182 if you have any questions.

Advisor: Mrs. Broderick, mjbroderick@pittsfield.net

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.